At its monthly meeting on Monday, Nov. 20, Lathrup Village City Council elected Kelly Garrett as mayor and Bruce Kantor as mayor pro tem. Garrett is in the midst of her second term and previously served as mayor pro tem. Kantor was elected to his first term on council on Nov. 7.

Frank Brock, who has served as mayor since 1995 and has been on council since 1989, was re-elected to an eighth term on Nov. 7.

The Lathrup Village City Charter enables voters to elect candidates to the five-member city council. At its first meeting following an election, the council elects one of its members as mayor and one as mayor pro tem.