DDA Board of Directors

Board of Directors
The Downtown Development Authority is governed by a Board of Directors, appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. The DDA Board is comprised of residents, business owners, and elected officials who volunteer their time to improve the community. 

The 10 member Board of Director is chair by Ryan Hertz, CEO of the South Oakland Shelter (SOS). There is currently one vacant seat. By ordinance, at least 6 members must be persons having an interest in property located within the DDA district. The members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor, and approved by the City Council, for four year terms, and are currently made up of the following members:

 Board Member  Profession
 Sam Surnow, Secretary  President of the Surnow Company
 Kelly Garrett
 Mayor, City of Lathrup Village
 Vernon English  Lathrup Village Resident
 Dan Verderbar  Vice President, Brokerage Services, Friedman Real Estate
 Bobbi Lovins, Vice Chair  Strategic Manager of Wallace Financial
 Jet Dhaliwal  Commercial Property Owner in the DDA District
 Ryan Hertz, Chair  President and CEO, South Oakland Shelter
 Pamela Bratschi  Treasurer, City of Lathrup Village 
 Fred Prime
 Lathrup Village resident

The DDA board generally meets at noon on the second Friday of the month at Lathrup Village City Hall.

There is currently one director vacancy. Interested parties should complete an application and submit it to City Hall via mail, email, fax or in person. Preference will be given to property owners within the DDA district.